Wise designated disaster area

By Messenger Staff | Published Saturday, September 1, 2018

Share this page...

Wise County was designated this week as a natural disaster area by the U.S. Department of Agriculture due to drought conditions.

USDA Secretary Sonny Perdue also named Dallas, Denton, Parker and Tarrant counties in the declaration, making farmers and ranchers in those counties eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including replacing essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farming operation or refinancing certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous counties of Collin, Cooke, Ellis, Grayson, Hood, Jack, Johnson, Kaufman, Montague, Palo Pinto and Rockwall in Texas are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is April 8, 2019.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: operating and farm ownership loans; the emergency conservation program; livestock forage disaster program; livestock indemnity program; emergency assistance for livestock, honeybees and farm-raised fish program; and the tree assistance program.

Farmers may contact the local FSA office at 940-627-2268. The office is at 1604 W. 380 Business, Suite 300, in Decatur.

Additional information is also available online at

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.