Republican ballot grows

By Messenger Staff | Published Saturday, December 9, 2017

Share this page...

As the filing period draws to a close, the Republican ballot grows longer.

As of press time Friday, 21 Republican candidates had filed to run for local office. The deadline to file is 6 p.m. Monday, Dec. 11. The primary election is March 6.

The complete list of candidates who have filed to run for local office as of Dec. 8 include: (Incumbents are noted with an asterisk.)

  • District judge – Brock R. Smith*
  • County judge – J.D. Clark*
  • County Court-at-Law No. 1 judge – Melton D. Cude*
  • Precinct 2 county commissioner – Kevin Burns*, Johnny Wall
  • Precinct 4 county commissioner – Gaylord Kennedy*
  • County treasurer – Katherine Canova Hudson*
  • County clerk – Sherry Coursey Lemon*, Julie Schooling
  • District clerk – Brenda Starnes Rowe*
  • Precinct 1 justice of the peace – Jan Morrow*
  • Precinct 2 justice of the peace – Ashly Coker DoByns, Callie Watts Manning*, Kim Redman, Tammy Cowley Sosa
  • Precinct 3 justice of the peace – Mandy Hopkins Hays*
  • Precinct 4 justice of the peace – Todd Bailey, Kent C. “Bucky” Manoushagian, Willie Garrett
  • Precinct 3 constable (remainder of unexpired term) – Charles B. Applewhite, Cary Mellema, Terry N. Terry

State Rep. Phil King and Sen. Craig Estes have both filed for re-election with the state Republican Party. Pat Fallon filed to run against Estes for the District 30 seat in the Republican primary.

Davey Edwards filed to run for Texas land commissioner. He’ll face incumbent George P. Bush and Rick Range of Sherman in the March 6 Republican primary. Miguel Suazo of Austin will run for land commissioner in the Democratic primary.

As of Friday, no one had filed for the local Democratic primary.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.