Soccer: Great journey revisited – Book headed to 50th reunion

Published Saturday, June 10, 2017
By Richard Greene

Fifty years ago, Jan Book boarded a plane from his native Sweden to Spain to join a newly formed American soccer team.

Read More...

0 Comments

Paying price for ‘overlooked’ drive

Published Saturday, June 10, 2017
By Morriss Johnson

Did you know that the Wise County Appraisal District can use "discovered concrete drive" at your property to exceed the state law that prohibits more than a 10-percent increase in the appraised value of a homestead? I didn't either until my recent protest meeting.

Read More...

0 Comments

Outdoor watering prohibited in Runaway Bay

Published Saturday, May 27, 2017
By Racey Burden

The city of Runaway Bay continues to limit outdoor watering until a broken filter is repaired at its water plant.

Read More...

0 Comments

Purchase approved to fix water emergency

Published Wednesday, May 17, 2017
By Racey Burden

Runaway Bay City Council approved Monday the purchase of a kit to fix the filter at the city's water plant.

Read More...

0 Comments

Fletcher Larrow

Published Wednesday, May 17, 2017
By

Fletcher "Gene" Larrow, 84, of Runaway Bay, died Friday, May 12, 2017, in Grapevine.

Read More...

0 Comments

Harbor Inn fire remains a mystery

Published Saturday, May 13, 2017
By David Talley

The cause of the Harbor Inn fire last fall remains undetermined six months after the blaze.

Read More...

0 Comments

Jennifer Page

Published Wednesday, April 26, 2017
By

Jennifer Page, 50, of Runaway Bay, died Thursday, April 20, 2017, in Decatur.

Read More...

0 Comments

May Elections: Early voting starts Monday

Published Saturday, April 22, 2017
By Messenger Staff

Polls open at 8 a.m. Monday, kicking off early voting for the May 6 city council and school board elections.

Read More...

0 Comments

May Elections: Candidate Questionnaires

Published Saturday, April 22, 2017
By Messenger Staff

The Messenger sent school board candidates questionnaires, asking them to address the following questions.

Read More...

0 Comments

City of Runaway Bay hangs help wanted sign

Published Wednesday, April 19, 2017
By Racey Burden

The city of Runaway Bay has several job positions open, including city administrator.

Read More...

0 Comments

Curtis Arnold West

Published Saturday, April 15, 2017
By

Curtis Arnold West, 73, of Runaway Bay, died Tuesday, April 11, 2017, in Decatur.

Read More...

0 Comments

Howard R. Lawson

Published Wednesday, March 1, 2017
By

Howard R. Lawson, 65, of Runaway Bay, died Saturday, Feb. 25, 2017, in Runaway Bay.

Read More...

0 Comments

Hugh Franklin McCrary

Published Wednesday, February 22, 2017
By

Hugh Franklin (Mac) McCrary, 82, of Runaway Bay, died Friday, Feb. 17, 2017, in Decatur.

Read More...

0 Comments

Shirley Duncan

Published Saturday, February 18, 2017
By

Shirley Duncan, 81, of Runaway Bay, died Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2017, in Decatur.

Read More...

0 Comments

Jeanne Carol Elliott

Published Saturday, January 28, 2017
By

Jeanne Carol (Beals) Elliott, 70, of Runaway Bay, died Thursday, January 26, 2017, in Bridgeport.

Read More...

0 Comments

Permit fees set for destroyed condos

Published Saturday, January 21, 2017
By Racey Burden

Runaway Bay City Council members voted Friday on finish-out permit fees for condominiums destroyed by the May 2015 tornado.

Read More...

0 Comments

Franklin D. Middleton

Published Wednesday, January 18, 2017
By

Franklin D. Middleton, 83, of Runaway Bay, died Saturday, Jan. 14, 2017.

Read More...

0 Comments

William Allen Smith

Published Saturday, January 14, 2017
By

William Allen (Bill) Smith, 64, of Waco, formerly of Runaway Bay, died Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2017, in Waco.

Read More...

0 Comments

Motel fire investigation concludes

Motel fire investigation concludes

Published Wednesday, December 21, 2016
By David Talley

The state-led investigation into the October fire that destroyed the Harbor Inn motel in Runaway Bay has concluded, city Public Safety Director Doug Angel confirmed Tuesday.

Read More...

0 Comments

Audit reflects financial stability

Published Wednesday, December 21, 2016
By Racey Burden

Runaway Bay City Council received the city's audit report for fiscal year 2015-2016 Monday.

Read More...

0 Comments