Slow down on pension changes

Published Saturday, December 13, 2014
By Carole Alvey

Congress is negotiating to cut the pension benefits of some multi-employer pension plans in an effort to address estimated shortfalls at the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. (PBGC) in the distant future.

Read More...

0 Comments

Maudie Mae Gilmore

Published Wednesday, December 3, 2014
By

Maudie Mae Gilmore, 69, a homemaker, died Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014, in Newark.

Read More...

0 Comments

Early morning fire ‘suspicious’

Early morning fire ‘suspicious’

Published Wednesday, November 19, 2014
By Bob Buckel

When a home that hasn't been occupied in more than 10 days, and has no gas or electric service, catches on fire in the middle of the night, it's suspicious.

Read More...

0 Comments

Appreciates WCSO’s work

Published Saturday, November 15, 2014
By Citizens of Newark

Once again, we would like to congratulate Sheriff David Walker and all of his deputies for the great job they are doing in the Newark area.

Read More...

0 Comments

Officers arrest 3 for drugs, 3 others on different charges

Published Wednesday, November 5, 2014
By Brian Knox

More detailed information has been released regarding a drug investigation that led to the arrest of six people in Newark last week.

Read More...

0 Comments

Eileen Kaye Howden

Published Wednesday, November 5, 2014
By

Eileen Kaye Howden, 50, of Newark, died Sunday, Nov. 2, 2014, in Decatur.

Read More...

0 Comments

Minshew, 5 others arrested in drug case

Published Saturday, November 1, 2014
By Brian Knox

Six people have been arrested in connection with a drug investigation that resulted in the seizure of more than 100 grams of methamphetamine from a Newark home.

Read More...

0 Comments

Mary Janelle Spivey

Published Wednesday, October 29, 2014
By

Mary Janelle Spivey, 56, a homemaker, died Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014, in Newark.

Read More...

0 Comments

Britt will help Wise County solve problems

Published Wednesday, October 22, 2014
By Donald Drain

Why would anyone in Wise or Parker counties want to vote for Phil King? He is strictly for the drilling and oil companies. They are his biggest contributers.

Read More...

0 Comments

Geraldine Patricia Tichinel

Published Wednesday, September 24, 2014
By

Geraldine Tichinel, 72, of Newark died Saturday, Sept. 13, 2014.

Read More...

0 Comments

Family escapes fire with lives, little else

Family escapes fire with lives, little else

Published Wednesday, August 27, 2014
By Brian Knox

A fire Sunday night has left a Newark family with next to nothing.

Read More...

0 Comments

Debra Rena Patterson

Published Wednesday, August 27, 2014
By

Debra Rena Patterson, 55, a homemaker, died Friday, Aug. 22, 2014, in Newark.

Read More...

0 Comments

Philip Dean Knowles

Published Saturday, August 23, 2014
By

Philip Dean Knowles, 79, of Newark, died Wednesday, Aug. 20, 2014.

Read More...

0 Comments

Alilya Jade Stewart

Published Saturday, August 23, 2014
By

Carmon Keathley and Dustin Stewart of Newark announce the birth of a daughter, Alilya Jade Stewart

Read More...

0 Comments

Burned again: Duo attempts to dismantle house, accidentally sets it on fire

Published Wednesday, July 30, 2014
By Kristen Tribe

An unoccupied mobile home caught fire in Newark Tuesday morning as two men were attempting to dismantle the structure.

Read More...

0 Comments

John L. Neely Jr.

Published Wednesday, July 30, 2014
By

John L. Neely Jr., 88, of Newark, died Friday, July 25, 2014.

Read More...

0 Comments

Sharon Muck

Published Wednesday, July 23, 2014
By

Sharon Muck, 67, formerly of Newark, died Monday, July 21, 2014, in Broken Arrow, Okla.

Read More...

0 Comments

Dora May Cairns

Published Saturday, June 21, 2014
By

Dora May Cairns, 82, of Newark died Monday, June 16, 2014, in Newark.

Read More...

0 Comments

Missing elderly woman found dead

Published Wednesday, June 18, 2014
By Brian Knox

A missing person search turned into a grim discovery Monday afternoon when an elderly woman was found dead near her home in Newark.

Read More...

0 Comments

Freddie Jack Shannon

Published Saturday, June 14, 2014
By

Freddie Jack Shannon, 81, of Newark, died Friday, June 6, 2014, in Decatur.

Read More...

0 Comments