Councilman admits to sexual offense, files for re-election

Published Wednesday, March 11, 2015
By Brian Knox

An Aurora City Council member has pleaded guilty to a second degree felony charge of indecency with a child by sexual contact.

Read More...

1 Comment

Isabellah Zophea Rubio

Published Saturday, February 21, 2015
By

Edward Rubio and Elsa Alatorre of Aurora announce the birth of their fifth daughter, Isabellah Zophea Rubio

Read More...

0 Comments

Local students named to UNT dean’s list

Published Wednesday, February 11, 2015
By Messenger Staff

The following University of North Texas students from Wise County were named to the dean's list for the 2014 fall semester.

Read More...

0 Comments

Garland Ferris Ham

Published Saturday, February 7, 2015
By

Garland Ferris Ham, 84, of Aurora, died Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2015, in Bedford.

Read More...

1 Comment

Penny Lou Hyman

Published Saturday, January 17, 2015
By

John and Kristina Hyman of Aurora announce the birth of their third daughter, Penny Lou Hyman

Read More...

0 Comments

Cameron Michael Timothy Riedle

Published Saturday, January 3, 2015
By

Matt and Bianca Riedle of Aurora announce the birth of a son, Cameron Michael Timothy Riedle

Read More...

0 Comments

Brandon Emanuel Iniguez

Published Saturday, December 6, 2014
By

Nayeli Mora and Juan Iniguez of Aurora announce the birth of a son, Brandon Emanuel Iniguez

Read More...

0 Comments

W. Harrell Green

Published Saturday, November 22, 2014
By

W. Harrell Green, 78, of Aurora died Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2014, in Corinth.

Read More...

0 Comments

Mr. and Mrs. Robert Pratt

Published Saturday, November 8, 2014
By

Sarah Elizabeth Statzer and Robert Christopher Pratt of Aurora were married Oct. 5, at Sugar Bean Coffee and Cream in Galveston.

Read More...

0 Comments

Jimena Monserrat Aguilar

Published Saturday, November 1, 2014
By

Diana and Roberto Aguilar of Aurora announce the birth of their second daughter, Jimena Monserrat Aguilar

Read More...

0 Comments

Decide your government for yourselves

Published Saturday, October 25, 2014
By D. A. Sharpe

A friend asked me this week, at the beginning of early voting, where she could read all about each of the candidates on the ballot, so she could decide who to vote for.

Read More...

0 Comments

Recipe missing a critical ingredient

Published Saturday, October 18, 2014
By D.A. Sharpe

Robert Williams' guest editorial in the Oct. 15 issue of the Wise County Messenger exhorts people to live to the highest standard in making our whole communities good and successful where we live.

Read More...

0 Comments

Farver faces child indecency charge

Published Saturday, September 20, 2014
By Brian Knox

An Aurora city councilman was arrested earlier this month for indecency with a child.

Read More...

0 Comments

Will your family be remembered in history?

Published Saturday, July 26, 2014
By D.A. Sharpe

People of wisdom are quoted as saying that history repeats itself and that we can estimate what the future will hold by knowledge of history.

Read More...

0 Comments

Joe Wendell Reid

Published Saturday, March 15, 2014
By

Joe Wendell Reid, 76, of Aurora, died Friday, March 14, 2014, in Bridgeport.

Read More...

0 Comments

51 from Wise on Weatherford College dean’s list

Published Wednesday, February 26, 2014
By Messenger Staff

More than 450 students - including 51 from Wise County - were named to the Weatherford College Dean's List for the fall 2013 semester.

Read More...

0 Comments

Clark a candidate all can support

Published Wednesday, February 12, 2014
By D.A. Sharpe

Proper governance, in a land of rule by law and constitution, is the life-blood of living in freedom.

Read More...

0 Comments

Milton D. Travis Sr.

Published Saturday, November 30, 2013
By

Milton D. Travis Sr., 83, of Aurora, a retired Greyhound bus driver, died Monday, Nov. 25, 2013, in Fort Worth.

Read More...

0 Comments

Robert J. ‘Bob’ Phinney

Published Wednesday, October 16, 2013
By

Robert J. "Bob" Phinney, 80, a retired road construction superintendent, died Saturday, Oct. 12, 2013, at his home in Aurora.

Read More...

0 Comments

Horseback rider struck by van

Published Wednesday, October 9, 2013
By Kristen Tribe

A 14-year-old horseback rider was injured when he was hit by a minivan about 8 p.m. Friday on Texas 114 near Old Base Road in Aurora.

Read More...

0 Comments