Decatur races to be contested

By Messenger Staff | Published Saturday, February 16, 2019
Tags: , ,

Share this page...

Both Decatur ISD board spots and all three Decatur City Council seats on the May ballot will be contested.

The deadline for filing for a spot on the ballot for the May 4 general election was 5 p.m. Friday. Candidates have until 5 p.m. Tuesday to file as a write-in.

Former Decatur ISD trustee Chris Lowery joined the fray Thursday, filing for the Place 2 seat currently held by School Board President Cheri Boyd.

The Place 1 seat currently held by Wade Watson will have three candidates – Thomas Houchin, Stan Shults and Pete Rivera. Watson decided not to run for a third term.

For the Decatur City Council, Susan Cocanougher, Jake Hayes and Justin Horton filed for Place 2. Place 4 will feature Eddie Allen and Will Carpenter. In Place 6, Randy Parker will be opposed by Melinda Reeves.

Boyd ISD drew a pair of candidates for the Place 7 seat of Jason Hammon. The vice president elected not to run. Jeremy Lambert and Mark Starnes filed for the seat. Kenneth Shepherd did not draw an opponent for Place 6.

Chico Mayor Colleen Self will be opposed in her re-election bid by councilman Rick Bowling. Councilmen Gary Fatheree and Kevin Grimes have also filed.

Troy Gregg is running for Alvord mayor. Brian Hatzenbihler has filed for Place 1.

Place 3 on the Alvord School Board will be contested as Catey Allen will be opposed by Rusty Rice. Daniel Ruddick and Mark Gose filed for Place 4 and 5, respectively.

Rhome incumbents Josh McCabe, Place 1; Kenny Crenshaw, Place 2, and Elaine Priest, Place 3, have filed.

Tim Raley and Jarod Caldwell have filed for Place 4 on the Chico School Board and Steven Cox and Ubaldo Garcia for Place 3. Dusty Sides has filed for Place 5.

Boyd incumbents, Mayor Rodney Holmes, Place 4 Mayor pro tem Mark Culpepper and Place 2 councilman Tim Hammonds filed without opposition. Ashley Frisinger filed to stay in the Place 1 seat she was appointed to last year and will fill the unexpired term.

New Fairview Mayor Joe Max Wilson and councilmen Scott Johnson and Curtis Kent did not draw opponents.

There have been two filings for Newark City Council. Mayor Pro Tem Eric Fleischer filed for mayor and incumbent Darla Loggains-Wood filed to stay in Council Place 4.

At Bridgeport ISD, two incumbent school board members filed to keep their places. Duane Sutherland filed to stay in Place 5 and Jim Bost filed for Place 4.

In Bridgeport, Bryson Boyd, the president of Wise County Citizens for Property Rights, filed for city council Place 5. Incumbent Billy Fred Walker also filed to keep his seat in Place 5. Incumbent council members Jimmy Meyers, Place 3, and Bobby Brazier, Place 4 filed to keep their seats. Former Bridgeport Index reporter Vella Alexander also filed for Place 4.

Northwest ISD trustees, Place 3 Anne Davis Simpson and Place 4 Judy Copp, did not draw opponents.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.