Runaway Bay draws 5 for mayor’s race

By Messenger Staff | Published Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Share this page...

Runaway Bay will feature a crowded field in the mayor’s race.

Five candidates filed to run for mayor of the city before Friday’s deadline for a spot on the ballot for the May 5 election. The deadline to file as a write-in candidate was 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Current Runaway Bay Mayor John Boyd will be challenged by Jamie Griffeth, Janie Tucknies, Tim Donald and Barry White.

Runaway Bay is one of two cities in the county with a contested mayor’s race. In Rhome, Mayor Michelle Pittman di Credico is being challenged by Jo Ann Wilson.

Some cities did not have enough candidates to fill out the ballot. In Boyd, only two filed for three spots on the ballot. New Fairview was also a candidate short.

Early voting in the election starts April 23 and will run through May 1.

Here is a list of filings:

CITY OF ALVORD – Trey Chamber filed for Place 3, Heather Redder filed for Place 4 and Jimmy Enochs (incumbent) filed for Place 5.

ALVORD ISD – Russell Rice (incumbent) and Jim Looney filed for Place 1, Jim Bloomer filed for Place 2 and Catey Allen filed for Place 3.

CITY OF AURORA – Penny Shockey filed for Ward 1, Janet Derting in Ward 2 and Jason Brummal (incumbent) in Ward 3.

CITY OF BOYD – Vince Estel (incumbent) filed for Place 3 and Gary Brown (incumbent) filed for Place 5. No one filed for the Place 1 seat of incumbent Letty Thome.

BOYD ISD – Bill Childress (incumbent) filed for Place 4, Trae Luttrell (incumbent) filed for Place 5. Kenneth Shepherd filed for the unexpired Place 6 term.

CITY OF BRIDGEPORT – Randy Singleton (incumbent) and Tim Kirkland filed to run for mayor. Kathy Kennedy and Debra Workman are running for Place 1, and incumbent Kevin Lopez filed for Place 2.

BRIDGEPORT ISD – Incumbents filed: Place 1 Tom Talley, Place 2 Charles Mauldin, Place 3 Alan Powers.

CITY OF CHICO – Toby Sides, Cindy Buckner Barksdale and Greta McDaniel (incumbent) have filed for the three at-large council seats.

CHICO ISD – Incumbent Brian Hand has filed for Place 1 and Cody Powell has filed for Place 2.*

(Chico school representatives did not return a phone call Tuesday confirming who had filed.)

CITY OF DECATUR – Carmelina Holloway (incumbent) filed for Place 1, Mike McQuiston filed for Place 3, Jay Davidson and Cecil Buster Chandler filed for Place 5 and Martin Woodruff (incumbent) filed for mayor.

DECATUR ISD – Matt Joiner (incumbent) filed for Place 5, Charlie Tibbels filed for Place 6 and Marsha Hafer (incumbent) filed for Place 7.

CITY OF LAKE BRIDGEPORT – Ramon Galban filed for mayor and Andy Smith filed for a city council seat.

CITY OF NEWARK – Michael Murray (incumbent) and Sean Phillips filed for Place 1, Taylor Burton (incumbent) and Shawn Glover filed for Place 2, Chris Raines (incumbent) and Brad Reed filed for Place 3.

CITY OF NEW FAIRVIEW – Incumbents Scott Johnson and Rick White filed. A third spot is open.

NORTHWEST ISD – Josh Wright (incumbent) filed for Place 1 and Mark Schluter (incumbent) filed for Place 2. Stephen Janis, Matthew Hirst, Joy Harrison and Ron Hastings filed for the unexpired term of Place 7.

CITY OF RHOME – Michelle Pittman di Credico (incumbent) and Jo Ann Wilson filed for mayor. Sam Eason (incumbent) and David Gilbert filed for Place 4 and Leeanne Mackowski (incumbent) and Ronnie Moore filed for Place 5. The city is also holding a special election for two council seats with unexpired terms. The deadline to file for those seats is March 5. As of press time, Kenny Crenshaw had filed for Place 2 and Josh McCabe and Elaine Priest had filed for Place 3.

CITY OF RUNAWAY BAY – John Boyd (incumbent), Jamie Griffeth, Janie Tucknies, Tim Donald and Barry White have filed for mayor. Carolyn Moody filed for an unexpired council term. Janice Sivley (incumbent), Christopher Petty and Laura Blackburn have filed to run for council.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.