Montanha brings PBR event title home to Wise

By Brett Hoffman | Published Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Share this page...

Claudio Montanha Jr., a Brazilian who is from Decatur, clinched the title at last weekend’s Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series tour stop in Billings, Mont., and earned $41,089.

When the title was at stake in the final round on Sunday, Montanha turned in a score of 89.5 aboard Catfish John.

Montanha is ranked No. 1 in the world title race with 2,400.83 points. Ramon de Lima, a Brazilian who has a Decatur residence, is ranked No. 2 in the world standings with 2,255. Cody Nance, a Tennessee cowboy, is ranked No. 3 with 1,965.83.

Kaique Pacheco, another Brazilian who has a Decatur residence, finished second at the Billings tour stop and pocketed $18,097. He’s ranked No. 4 in the world standings with 1,925 points.

Alex Marcilio, a Brazilian who is from Justin, finished third in Billings. He pocketed $14,416. He’s ranked No. 20 in the world race.

This weekend, the Ford Series tour stops in Columbus, Ohio. The 2018 PBR World Finals is scheduled for Nov. 7-11 at Las Vegas’ T-Mobile Arena.


On the National Cutting Horse Association circuit, former world champion Kobie Wood of Stephenville and a stallion named Cool N Hot clinched the Super Stakes 4-year-old open division title with a score 227 as the show concluded its 25-day run Sunday night at Will Rogers Memorial Coliseum in Fort Worth.

After holding three cows at bay during a textbook run, Wood praised Cool N Hot for his athleticism.

“He’s kind of like LeBron James. He can do just about anything,” said Wood, comparing the horse to the NBA superstar.

Cool N Hot is owned by Wood’s wife, Paula, who also is a former world champion rider. After clinching the title, the Wood family, which raised Cool N Hot, pocketed $69,076.

Fort Worth rider Beau Galyean and a stallion named Rollz Royce finished as the reserve champion with a 222.5. In the 4-year-old non-pro finals, two Parker County competitors tied for first with 222s. They were Chad Bushaw of Weatherford aboard Bittersweet and Megan Miller of Poolville who rode Carolena Reyn.


The Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association is featuring a series of standout rodeos called the Wrangler ProRodeo Tour.

The Clark County Fair and Rodeo, which was April 11-15 in Logandale, Nev., was the first stop in the 23-rodeo series. The finale will be presented by Justin Boots, Sept. 6-9, in Puyallup, Wash.

Trevor Brazile of Decatur clinched the all-around title at the Clark County Fair and Rodeo in Logandale. The 23-time world champion earned $8,837 after finishing in the money in tie-down roping and team roping.

Brazile was ranked No. 3 in last week’s PRCA 2018 world all-around title race with $50,118 in regular season earnings. Tuf Cooper, the defending world all-around champion, was ranked No. 1 with $84,702. Cooper, who has homes in Decatur and Weatherford, finished fifth in the second round in Logandale and earned $1,031.

The tour also features Women’s Professional Rodeo Association competitors such as former world champion Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi, who clinched the barrel racing title in Logandale with a two-run time of 34.36 seconds.


Team roping stars Speed Williams and Rich Skelton are among the 10-member 2018 induction class for the ProRodeo Hall of Fame. The ceremony is Aug. 4 at the ProRodeo Hall of Fame in Colorado Springs, Colo.

According to, Williams and Skelton, who partnered and earned a record eight PRCA world team roping titles (1997-2004), will join gold buckle-winner Deb Greenough (bareback riding, 1993), contract personnel recipient Leon Coffee, stock contractor Billy Minick, rodeo notable Walt Garrison and the committee for the Black Hills Roundup in Belle Fourche, S.D., as the PRCA inductees.

For the second time in the history of the ProRodeo Hall of Fame (2017 being the first), barrel racers from the WPRA will be among the class of inductees, and their class includes Kristie Peterson, Billie McBride and a WPRA equine inductee, French Flash Hawk (Bozo).

In addition to the 10 inductees, former PRCA chief operating officer Kay Bleakly will receive the Ken Stemler Pioneer Award, which honors individuals in recognition of their groundbreaking, innovative ideas and forward thinking.

Brett Hoffman, a Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame member, has reported on rodeos for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram for more than three decades.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.