City honors police chief

By Roy J. Eaton | Published Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Tags: ,

Share this page...

Decatur Police Chief Rex Hoskins was honored for 35 years service at the city’s annual employee appreciation banquet Friday at the Decatur Conference Center.

“He can be stubborn, but he always has the best interest of the city at heart,” said City Manager Brett Shannon, who along with Martin Woodruff presented the award.

Police Sgt. Gerald Wright was presented a 25-year award. Lt. Delvin Campbell was honored for 15 years with the city. Detective Daniel Sandate and Crstina Schwab also received 15-year awards. Other police officers honored with five- and 10-year honors included: John Riley, Sara Leach and Erika McComis.

Decatur Fire Chief Mike Richardson, along with Captains Cliff Oates and Nate Mara, received 10-year awards. Deputy Chief/Fire Marshall Deroy Bennett was honored for 15 years service.

Linda Meador with the Decatur Public Library was honored for 25 years with the city, while Denice Herrera, also with the library, received a 10-year award.

Bobby Brown with the public works department was honored for 20 years service. Other public works and water department employees receiving five- or 10-year awards included: Kenny Butler, Pedro Hernandez, Elidio Garcia and Tony Estes.

Decatur Conference Center director Lori Sherwood received a five-year award, along with Ford McElroy of the Planning Department and city council members Cary Bohn and Susan Cocanougher.

Park department superintendent Ray Petty received a 10-year award, as did Heath Taylor of the parks department. Other 10-year award recipients included Gayle Hubbard of the city hall staff.

Human resources director Mary Ann Henline received a 15-year award, as did Delfina Inquanzo of the city hall staff.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.