Brazile, Cooper reach semis in Houston

By Brett Hoffman | Published Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Share this page...

Trevor Brazile of Decatur, a 23-time Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association world champion, has qualified for the Houston Livestock Show Rodeo semifinal in two events.

Brazile advanced to this week’s tie-down roping semifinal after earning $3,750 in the Super Series IV Bracket. He and partner Wyatt Cox moved to the semifinal in team roping.

Defending PRCA world all-around champion Tuf Cooper advanced to the tie-down roping semifinal after earning $3,500 in the Super Series II Bracket.

Nine-time Wrangler National Finals Rodeo qualifier K.C. Jones of Decatur qualified for the steer wrestling semifinal after earning $2,000 during Super Series I Bracket.

RodeoHouston’s high profile pro rodeo concludes Saturday. The 2018 Super Series is a 19-day tournament that crowns an event champion in bareback riding, bull riding, saddle bronc riding, steer wrestling, tie-down roping, team roping and women’s barrel racing. Each champion is awarded $50,000, plus previous round winnings, a custom-made saddle and belt buckle, and an invitation to compete at RodeoHouston the following year.

The Super Series’ biggest money winner last year was barrel racer Kassie Mowry of Dublin. She earned $50,000 for winning the final round and $10,000 in the qualifying rounds.


On the Professional Bull Riders circuit, Claudio Montanha Jr., a Brazilian who lives in Decatur, clinched the title at last weekend’s Built Ford Tough Series tour stop in Duluth, Ga. Montanha earned $37,085.

Montanha turned in scores of 84.75, 78 and 89.5 throughout the two-day show. During the final round, Montanha turned in the 89.5 aboard Buck John, which is owned by Broken Arrow Bucking Bulls.

After clinching the title, Montanha is ranked third in the PBR’s 2018 world title race with 1,535.83 points. He is behind a pair of Brazilian riders who live in Decatur. Ramon de Lima is ranked No. 1 with 1,740. He finished seventh in Duluth. Luciano De Castro is second with 1,655 points. He finished sixth at the Duluth show.

This weekend, the tour stops in Albuquerque, N.M. The Ty Murray Invitational is March 16-18.


On the National Cutting Horse Association circuit, Stacie McDavid clinched the non-pro title at the Houston Livestock Show Rodeo.

McDavid and Starz N Boon turned in a finals score of 222. David McDavid finished eighth in the non-pro finals on QB Cat. David and Stacie McDavid live in Fort Worth and own a Weatherford cutting horse ranch.

In the open division finals, Tarin Rice of Poolville and Tatum Rice of Weatherford tied for first place after each rider turned in a 226. Tarin Rice rode CR Gotcha Covered and Tatum Rice was on Hashtags.


Jordan Ketscher, a California cowboy, clinched the 2018 Cinch Timed Event Championship title on March 2-4 at the Lazy E Arena near Guthrie, Okla. He earned $104,000.

Ketscher has been a PRCA member since 2012. He has clinched all-around titles at numerous regular season rodeos.

Three-time NFR qualifier Clayton Hass of Weatherford finished second and earned $27,000. Marcus Theriot came in third and pocketed $17,000. Brazile finished eighth and earned $7,000.

The Timed Event Championships features credentialed rodeo athletes who compete in tie-down roping, steer roping, team roping heading, team roping heeling and steer wrestling.

Myles Neighbors snared the Jr. Ironman title and pocketed $11,000. Wyatt Hansen finished second and earned $5,000. Bo Yaussi came in third and earned $3,000.


On the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association circuit, Tarleton State is ranked No. 1 in the men’s team title race in the Southwest Region with 2,295 points. Odessa College is ranked second with 2,200.

South Plains College is ranked No. 1 in the Southwest Region’s women’s team title race with 1,381 points. Tarleton is second with 979.99.

South Plains’ women’s team clinched the title at the Feb. 22-24 Odessa College Rodeo, which was the sixth of 10 regional shows scheduled for the 2017-2018 regular season.

Brett Hoffman, a Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame member, has reported on rodeos for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram for more than three decades. Email him at

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.