4 file for Decatur city council

By Messenger Staff | Published Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Tags: , ,

Share this page...

Voters in Decatur will have at least one contested race and an incumbent seeking a different place on the city council.

Four places on the Decatur City Council are up for election this year.

Incumbent Mike McQuiston originally filed for re-election to Place 5 on the council. However, he withdrew his name from that place and then re-filed for Place 3, currently held by Cary Bohn.

Two people have filed for Place 5, which is an at-large seat on the council: Jay Davidson and Cecil Buster Chandler.

In the other two spots up for election, incumbents Mayor Martin Woodruff and Place 1’s Carmelina Holloway have filed for re-election.

The following entities reported filings by 5 p.m. Tuesday.

City of Alvord – No one has filed. Spots on the ballot include Place 3 (Kirk Gibson), Place 4 (Debra McKelvain), Place 5 (Jimmy Enochs).

Alvord ISD – Incumbent Russell Rice has filed for Place 1, Jim Bloomer has filed for Place 2 and Catey Allen has filed for Place 3.

City of Aurora – No one has filed. Spots on the ballot include Ward 1 (Jackie Stone), Ward 2 (Joe Smith), Ward 3 (Jason Brummal).

City of Boyd – No one has filed. Spots on the ballot include Place 1 (Letty Thome), Place 3 (Vince Estel), Place 5 (Gary Brown).

Boyd ISD – Kenneth Shepherd filed for unexpired Place 6 term along with incumbents Place 4 Bill Childress and Place 5 Trae Luttrell.

City of Bridgeport – Incumbent Randy Singleton has filed for mayor, as has Tim Kirkland. Incumbent Kevin Lopez filed for Place 2 and Kathy Kennedy filed for Place 1.

Bridgeport ISD – Incumbents Tom Talley (Place 1), Charles Mauldin (Place 2) and Alan Powers (Place 3) have filed.

City of Chico – No one has filed for the three at-large council seats (Leah Clark, Greta McDaniel, Jimmy Counts).

Chico ISD – Incumbent Brian Hand has filed for Place 1 and Cody Powell has filed for Place 2.

Decatur ISD – Incumbents Place 5 (Matt Joiner) and Place 7 (Marsha Hafer) have filed. Charles Tibbels has filed for Place 6.

City of Newark – No one has filed. Spots on the ballot include Place 1 (Michael Murray), Place 2 (Taylor Burton), Place 3 (Chris Raines).

Northwest ISD – Incumbent Mark Schluter has filed for Place 2. Other spots on the ballot include Place 1 (Josh Wright) and Place 7 unexpired term (vacant).

City of Rhome – Incumbents Mayor (Michelle Pittman di Credico) and Place 4 (Sam Eason), Place 5 (Leeanne Mackowski) and Place 2 (Kenny Crenshaw, one-year term) have filed. Josh McCabe filed for Place 3 (currently vacant, one-year term).

City of Runaway Bay – Incumbent John Boyd filed for mayor, as did Jamie Griffeth. Incumbent Janice Sivley filed for a council seat. Other spots on the ballot include two at-large council seats.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.