Football: Eagles earn all-district honors

By Messenger Staff | Published Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Share this page...
Top Newcomer

TOP NEWCOMER – Decatur sophomore A.J. Martinez rushed for 1,369 yards and 18 touchdowns to earn the 4-4A Division I offensive newcomer of the year honor. Messenger photo by Joe Duty

Decatur sophomore A.J. Martinez earned offensive newcomer of the year in District 4-4A Division I.

Martinez ran for 1,369 yards and 18 touchdowns. He also caught 52 passes for 651 yards and six scores.

Thirteen other Eagles received league honors.

Receivers Alec Uselton and Mario Reyes were tabbed to the first-team along with guard Ty Watson. Uselton and Reyes were the team’s leading receivers this year, finishing with 1,067 and 972 yards, respectively. Watson had a team-high 43 pancake blocks and was the only unanimous offensive selection on either the first or second team.

Second-team offensive selections included junior quarterback Wilson Hicks, receiver Beau Bedford, center Colby Murillo and tackle Morgan Picha. Hicks ended the season 267-of-413, throwing for 3,887 yards, 37 touchdowns and 11 interceptions. Bedford was Decatur’s third-leading receiver, hauling in 65 passes for 745 yards and nine touchdowns.

On the other side of the ball, Harrison Haney and Cole Denman highlighted the Eagles’ first-team defense selections. Haney made a team-best 128 tackles. Denman made 19 stops behind the line of scrimmage.

Braxton Roth, Casey White, Dylan Nation and Josh Sij were named to the second team.

Argyle’s Gage Campbell was named District MVP, while Hirschi running back Daimarqua Foster earned offensive player of the year.

Decatur finished the season 8-5, knocking off Abilene Wylie and Andrews in the playoffs to advance out of the area round for the first time since 2013. The Eagles lost in the region semifinal to Hirschi.

2017 4-4A DIVISION I


MVP: Gage Campbell, senior, Argyle

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Daimargue Foster, junior, Hirschi

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Isaiah White, senior, Hirschi

OFFENSIVE NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Brandon Baker, sophomore, Gainesville; A.J. Martinez, sophomore, Decatur

DEFENSIVE NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Fred Fleeks, sophomore, Hirschi

OFFENSIVE LINEMAN OF THE YEAR: Preston Coyle, senior, Argyle

DEFENSIVE LINEMAN OF THE YEAR: Ezekiel Holmes, senior, Hirschi

UTILITY PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Hayden Clearman, junior, Argyle; Calion Baker, senior, Gainesville




Quarterback: Jon Copeland, senior, Argyle

Running back: Gavin Brown, senior, Sanger; Don Williams, senior, Argyle; Dameon Moser, senior, Sanger

Receiver: Dillon Wilkerson, junior, Sanger; Wes McCollum, senior, Argyle; Cale Nanny, senior, Argyle; Carrington Manuel, senior, Burkburnett; Alec Uselton, senior, Decatur; Mario Reyes, senior, Decatur; Josh Kemp, senior, Gainesville; Javen Banks, senior, Hirschi; Xavier Wilson, senior, Hirschi

Tight end: Bryson Hudgens, senior, Argyle

Center: Shawn Cunningham, senior, Hirschi; Brent Uys, senior, Argyle

Guard: Garrett Thomas, junior, Argyle; Ty Watson, senior, Decatur

Tackle: Michael Harris, senior, Hirschi; Preston Wilson, junior, Argyle


Tackle: Lloyd Murray, junior, Hirschi; Jake Galbreath, senior, Sanger; Kaden Roberts, senior, Argyle

End: Chase Petter, junior, Argyle; Tyler Edington, senior, Gainesville

Inside linebacker: Harrison Haney, senior, Decatur; Brock Howard, junior, Sanger; Mason Underwood, junior, Burkburnett

Outside linebacker: Luke Pennington, senior, Sanger; Blake Ramsey, junior, Argyle; Cole Denman, senior, Decatur

Cornerback: Brenden Dixon, junior, Argyle; Gerrick McKinney, senior, Hirschi

Safeties: Nate Downing, junior, Hirschi; Eli Wilson, senior, Sanger; Jake Sullivan, sophomore, Argyle

Kicker: Ivan Franco, senior, Gainesville

Punter: Alex Gonzales, sophomore, Argyle



Quarterback: Wilson Hicks, junior, Decatur; Martez V’rana, senior, Hirschi; CJ Jackson, senior, Sanger

Running back: Andrew Calvin, senior, Hirschi; Noah Lang, junior, Argyle; Marcus Jackson, junior, Burkburnett

Receiver: Chase Estrada, senior, Argyle; Jacob Williams, juior, Burkburnett; Beau Bedford, junior, Decatur; Jalen McGee, senior, Gainesville; Isaiah Esquibel, senior, Hirschi; Hank Lemons, junior, Sanger

Tight end: Isaiah Rankin, senior, Hirschi

Center: Colby Murrillo, junior, Decatur; Zack Farris, senior, Sanger

Guard: Shane Huizenga, senior, Burkburnett; Devlyn Hall, sophomore, Gainesville

Tackle: Morgan Picha, junior, Decatur; Brandon Michels, junior, Argyle


Tackle: Mason Thrash, senior, Argyle; Christian Hendricks, junior, Hirschi

End: Braxton Roth, senior, Decatur; Blake Michels, junior, Argyle; Amiri Campbell, senior, Hirschi

Inside linebacker: Casey White, senior, Decatur; Bryce Petty, junior, Sanger; Scott Dunham, senior, Argyle

Outside linebacker: Tory Temple, senior, Hirschi; Walker Dickson, senior, Argyle; Dylan Nation, senior, Decatur

Cornerback: Baron Bailey, senior, Sanger; Slater Wright, senior, Argyle; Jaden Banks, senior, Hirschi

Safeties: Josh Sij, senior, Decatur; Stavonte Vaughn, sophomore, Hirschi; Braden Pruett, senior, Argyle

Kicker: Juan Martinez, senior, Sanger


Decatur: Ridge Burden, offensive tackle; Armando Benitez, kicker; Dayne Chapman, wide receiver; Jhett Parker, cornerback; Angel Garza, cornerback; Seth Hakanson, offensive guard; Cody Ellis, defensive tackle; Matteo Carrizales, defensive tackle

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.