Football: 13 Bulls earn all-district honors

By Messenger Staff | Published Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Tags: , ,

Share this page...
Leading the Charge

LEADING THE CHARGE – Bridgeport sophomore quarterback Jadon Maddux runs around a tackler. Maddux earned first-team 3-4A II. Messenger photo by Joe Duty

The Bridgeport Bulls had 13 players earn honors on the District 3-4A Division II team.

Quarterback Jadon Maddux and wide receiver Colton Waters earned first-team offensive honors. Linebacker Ryan Roberts and safety Ty Read were tabbed to the first-team defense.

Maddux finished the season with 2,142 yards, 16 touchdowns and 11 interceptions. He completed 58.4 percent of his passes to go along with 864 yards and 13 touchdowns rushing.

Waters led the team in receiving, hauling in 61 passes for 1,160 yards and 13 touchdowns.

On the second-team, running back Michael Cole rushed for 316 yards and three touchdowns, while making 53 receptions for 605 yards and four scores. Wide receiver Andrew Horton corralled 31 passes for 300 yards and three touchdowns.

Roberts was in on 110 tackles. Read broke up 11 passes and made 63 tackles.

Tackle Gonsalo Ibarra, linebacker Steele Pena and Zane Morrow earned second-team defensive accolades.

Kicker Milton Iniguez was named to the second-team special teams, as well.

Bridgeport had 12 players receive honorable mention honors. The Bulls finished the season 3-8, losing 32-28 to Godley in the opening round of the playoffs.


MVP: Wes Martin, senior, Graham

OFFENSIVE MVP: Tucker Horn, senior, Graham

DEFENSIVE MVP: Branden Brewer, senior, Iowa Park

OFFENSIVE LINE MVP: Riley Wyatt, senior, Graham

DEFENSIVE LINE MVP: Klayton Read, junior, Graham

OFFENSIVE SOPHOMORE: Trent Green, sophomore, Iowa Park

DEFENSIVE SOPHOMORE: Kaden Ashlock, sophomore, Iowa Park

UTILITY PLAYERS OF THE YEAR: Larenzo Tystad, senior, Krum; Chad Thomas, senior, Vernon




Quarterback: Jadon Maddux, sophomore, Bridgeport

Running backs: Billy Pearson, senior, Iowa Park; Chase Gilmore, junior, Graham

Wide receivers: Callen Mills, senior, Graham; Cameron Parker, senior, Graham; Ridgley Dietrichson, senior, Iowa Park; Colton Waters, senior, Bridgeport

Tight end: Wyatt Edwards, junior, Iowa Park

Center: Kolton Gough, senior, Graham

Guards: Jeremiah Stanley, junior, Iowa Park; Garrison Stovall, junior, Graham

Tackles: Jack Mercer, junior, Graham; Hunter Bagley, senior, Iowa Park

Kicker: David Lopez, senior, Graham


Tackles: Preston Langley, senior, Graham; Jeremiah Stanley, junior, Iowa Park

Ends: Will Hays, junior, Graham; Truman Castleberry, junior, Vernon

Linebackers: Joel Jones, senior, Graham; Ryan Roberts, senior, Bridgeport; Cy Holt, senior, Graham; Reid Lalk, junior, Iowa Park; Ryan Powell, senior, Vernon

Cornerback: Kalon Walker, senior, Graham; Dusty Wright, senior, Iowa Park

Safety: Peyton Johnston, senior, Graham; Ty Read, junior, Bridgeport

Punter: Caleb Schertz, senior, Krum



Quarterback: Brysan Garrard, senior, Vernon

Running back: Michael Cole, senior, Bridgeport; Brent McCallon, senior, Vernon

Wide receivers: Zack Kirk, junior, Krum; Melvin Scott, senior, Vernon; Adam Groves, senior, Graham; Kason Dickerson, senior, Iowa Park; Andrew Horton, senior, Bridgeport

Tight end: Matt Rankin, junior, Bridgeport

Center: Caleb Jennings, senior, Bridgeport

Guards: Connor Holzer, senior, Bridgeport; Josh Baker, senior, Krum

Tackles: Preston Newman, senior, Vernon; Antonio Barraza, senior, Krum

Kicker: Milton Iniguez, sophomore, Bridgeport


Tackles: Marc Rodriguez, junior, Vernon; Gonsalo Ibarra, junior, Bridgeport

Ends: Armando Herrera, senior, Graham; Hunter Bagley, senior, Iowa Park

Linebackers: TJ Story, senior, Vernon; Zane Petering, junior, Iowa Park; Hunter Wardup, senior, Graham; Kason Dickerson, senior, Iowa Park; Steele Pena, senior, Bridgeport

Cornerback: David Colunga, senior, Graham; Zane Morrow, senior, Bridgeport

Safety: Ronnie Gentry, senior, Krum; Brysan Garrard, senior, Vernon

Punter: Ryan Powell, senior, Vernon


Bridgeport: Eric Stonecheck, offensive tackle; Jacob Marshall, offensive tackle; Jared Brazier, guard; Carson Johnson, running back; Cole Barton running back; William Vann, safety; Michael Cole, safety; Dianjelo Sandoval, defensive line; Drew Carstens, defensive line; Zach Sparks, linebacker; Ethan Herschler, punter and wide receiver

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.