Local clinches PBR event title

By Brett Hoffman | Published Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Share this page...

A rookie was in the spotlight at last weekend’s Professional Bull Riders tour stop in Raleigh, N.C.

Dener Barbosa, a Brazilian who lives in Decatur, clinched the title after turning in scores of 82.25 (in the first round), 81.75 (second round) and 86.75 (finals). He earned $33,200.

Claudio Montanha Jr. finished second. He pocketed $18,000.

Eduardo Aparecido, who finished ninth in Raleigh, is ranked No. 1 in the world title race with 4,162.50 points. Aparecido, a Brazilian, lives in the Decatur area when he’s competing in North America.

Defending world champion Cooper Davis, who is from Jasper in East Texas, is ranked No. 2 in the world standings with 3,925.83 points. Kaique Pacheco, a Brazilian who lives in Decatur, is ranked No. 3 with 3,750.

This weekend, the Ford Series (the association’s top tier tour) will stop in San Jose, Calif. The 2017 World Finals is Nov. 1-5 at Las Vegas’ T-Mobile Arena.


Marcos Costa, a Brazilian who lives in Childress, clinched the tie-down roping title at the All-American ProRodeo Finals on Saturday night in Waco.

According to, Costa, a three-time Wrangler National Finals Rodeo qualifier, and Ryan Jarrett, the 2005 world all-around champion, tied with 7.7-second times in the final round. But Costa had a quicker run in the semis at 7.1 seconds, just ahead Jarrett’s 7.2-second effort. Therefore, Costa was declared the champion.

Costa earned $12,123 at the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association/Women’s Professional Rodeo Association show.

Kellie Collier of Hereford, who has earned her first trip to the National Finals after finishing in the top 15 in the WPRA barrel racing standings during the 2017 regular season, clinched the barrel racing title at the Waco rodeo after turning in a finals time of 15.78. The former Texas Tech star pocketed $10,879.

Other winners were team ropers Clay Smith and Paul Eaves (5.4 seconds), steer wrestler Riley Duvall (4.6 seconds), saddle bronc rider Brody Cress (86.5 points on Pickett Pro Rodeo’s Delta Dawn), bull rider Sage Kimzey (88.5 points on Andrews Rodeo Company’s No Name) and bareback rider Shane O’Connell (87 points on Pickett Pro Rodeo’s Scarlett Belle).

O’Connell and bareback rider Bill Tutor had identical 87-point rides in the finals, but O’Connell was awarded the crown because he had an 85-point ride in the semifinals, while Tutor came in at 77.5 points.

The All-American ProRodeo Finals offered competitors $482,854. The prize money earned at the rodeo will count toward the 2018 PRCA world standings. The 2018 regular season began Oct. 1.

The All American ProRodeo Series is among five PRCA/WPRA national series and tours, each of which culminates in its own championship. The others are the RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo (RNCFR); the PRCA Xtreme Bulls Tour Finale; the Justin Boots Playoffs; and the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo.


Every year, the PRCA honors the top rookies in each single event and in the all-around title race. The titles are called the PRCA/Resistol Rookie of the Year.

This year, two East Texas cowboys finished No. 1 in single event rookie title races. They were team roping heeler Cody Hogan of Athens and bull rider Boudreaux Campbell of Crockett.

Hogan clinched the heeling title after earning $43,792 throughout the regular season. He edged second place finisher Nano Garza, a New Mexico cowboy who earned $40,596.

Campbell clinched the bull riding rookie title after pocketing $88,062. Tristen Mize of Bryan finished second with $85,956.

After earning $88,062, Campbell also qualified for the December Wrangler National Finals Rodeo in Las Vegas. He finished the regular season in 14th place in the PRCA’s bull riding standings.

Shade Etbauer of Goodwell, Okla., was the year’s top rookie in saddle bronc riding. He’s the son of Robert Etbauer, a two-time saddle bronc riding world champion.

Nelson Wyatt of Canton, Ala., clinched both the 2017 team roping heading and all-around titles. The other 2017 top rookies were bareback rider Tanner Phipps (of Dalton, Ga.), steer wrestler Jesse Brown (Baker City, Ore.), tie-down roper Tyler Milligan (Pawhuska, Okla.), and steer roper Kelton McMillen (Paden, Okla.).


On the National Cutting Horse Association circuit, Geoffrey Sheehan of Weatherford and a horse named Cromed Out Cat finished second at the Pacific Coast Futurity Classic Challenge on Oct. 9, at the South Point Hotel Equestrian Center in Las Vegas. According to reports on and, the Weatherford-based Beechfork Ranch earned $13,000 for the reserve championship.

Metallic Rebel and Beau Galyean of Fort Worth clinched the title in the 5- and 6-year-old open division with a 225. Owner Thomas Guinn of Philadelphia, Miss., earned $16,000.

Metallic Rebel and Galyean clinched the 5-and 6-year-old open title at the Brazos Bash near Weatherford after turning in a remarkable 228 during the Sept. 25 finals. At the Weatherford show, Guinn earned $20,000 for the victory.

Grant Setnicka of Grandview and SVR Caught Ya Looking tied for second at the Pacific Coast Derby Open Division on Oct. 10 in Las Vegas. The strong finish in the 4-year-old open finals earned the horse’s owners, Carmel Cutting Horses, $12,500.

Lloyd Cox and Sweat Son clinched the Derby title with a 221.5. Owner N.W. VandeSteeg earned $16,000.


The 64th annual Roping Fiesta is Oct. 27-29 at the San Angelo Stock Show Rodeo grounds in San Angelo. The Oct. 28 tie-down roping match will feature 2015 world champion tie-down roper Caleb Smidt and former world all-around champion Ryan Jarrett. Tickets for the Oct. 28 Invitational Calf and Match Roping are $12 and $10 for the Oct. 29 Invitational Steer Roping and Double Mugging.

Brett Hoffman, a Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame member, has reported on rodeos for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram for more than three decades.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.