Firefighters honored at annual banquet

By Messenger Staff | Published Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tags: ,

Share this page...

Andy Wood was named Decatur Firefighter of the Year Saturday at the department’s annual honors banquet.

Wood, a firefighter and paramedic, was recognized along with other department members for his hard work and dedication.

Service Recognized

SERVICE RECOGNIZED – Decatur firefighters that received awards at last weekend’s banquet include (from left) Andy Wood, Ruben Galindo, Brandon Peyton, Evan Davis and Jed Boyd. Submitted photo

Firefighter Brandon Peyton picked up three awards. Peyton, formerly a lieutenant in the department’s volunteer division and now a paid member of the department, was recognized for being the first member of the department to receive certification from two state agencies that certify volunteer and paid firefighters.

He was also honored for volunteering more than 800 hours to the department and was named Fire Officer of the Year.

Other volunteer firefighters honored for service in 2014 included Ryan Davis, James Murawski and Stephen Tye – all three volunteered more than 500 hours to the fire service.

The department’s Rookie of the Year award was presented to Evan Davis, while the EMS Responder of the Year was Ruben Galindo. Jed Boyd received the department’s Customer Service Award.

Bridgeport firefighters were at the Decatur Fire Station to answer any calls during the banquet.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.