Meadows earns 9-2A honor; 5 Panthers, 3 Bulldogs make all-district

By Richard Greene | Published Saturday, May 31, 2014

Share this page...

Paradise ace pitcher Dillon Meadows mowed down 153 batters on his way to posting a 6-3 record with a 1.79 ERA for the Panthers.

TOP GUN – Paradise hurler Dillon Meadows earned 9-2A Pitcher of the Year after going 6-3 with a 1.79 ERA. Messenger photo by Joe Duty

The Paradise junior, who led the Panthers to the area round of the 2A playoffs, earned 9-2A Pitcher of the Year for his efforts.

Meadows, who also hit .484 with 27 RBIs, was one of five Paradise players to receive 9-2A honors. Three Alvord players earned league selections.

District champion Brock dominated the superlative awards, including taking the Coaching Staff of the Year.

Brock senior Slaten Gough was MVP. Junior Kolbin Mills was the Offensive Player of the Year, and sophomore Titus Gossett took Utility Player of the Year.

Peaster’s Asa Menchaca ganered Defensive Player of the Year. Ponder’s Shane Scott was the league’s top newcomer.

Paradise catcher Skylar Black, shortstop Jarret Holt and outfielder Tanner Valentine made the first team. Black hit five home runs and drove in 34 runs, batting .471. Holt hit .354 with 20 RBIs, two homers and scored 38 runs. He had a .906 fielding percentage. Valentine hit .302 with 14 RBIs.

Alvord shortstop Lane Peace and outfielder Jonathan Musgrave joined the first team. Peace batted .559 with four homers and 28 RBIs and was the area’s top hitter before breaking his ankle midway through 9-2A play. Musgrave hit .373 with 15 RBIs.

Paradise’s Austin Hogan and Alvord’s Ryan Bartholomew made the second team. Hogan sported a .386 average with 25 RBIs and a homer. Bartholomew hit .308 and drove in 10 runs.

Alvord’s Cassidy Patterson, Mason Clower, Kyle Dunn and Cooper Hering, Paradise’s J.D. Pearson, and Boyd’s Sonny McCarmack, Cody Jacobs, Colton Batterton and Brandon Hardee received honorable mention.

Big Bat

BIG BAT – Alvord shortstop Lane Peace made the 9-2A first team after hitting .559 with four homers before breaking his ankle. Messenger photo by Joe Duty


MVP: Slaten Gough, senior, Brock

Pitcher of the Year: Dillon Meadows, junior, Paradise

Offensive Player of the Year: Kolbin Mills, junior, Brock

Defensive Player of the Year: Asa Menchaca, junior, Peaster

Newcomer of the Year: Shane Scott, freshman, Ponder

Utility Player of the Year: Titus Gossett, sophomore, Brock

Coaching Staff of the Year: Brock


Pitchers: Colby Fowler, senior, Brock; Collin Knight, senior, Ponder

Catcher: Skylar Black, junior, Paradise

Infielders: Seth Boleman, sophomore, Brock; Jarret Holt, senior, Paradise; Hayden Miller, junior, Peaster; Keaton Malcom, senior, Peaster; Kyle Davis, junior, Millsap; Lane Peace, senior, Alvord

Outfielders: Jordan Andrae, sophomore, Brock; Blake Berry, junior, Peaster; Jonathon Musgrave, senior, Alvord; Tanner Valentine, senior, Paradise

Designated hitter: Ivan Karabanoff, senior, Peaster


Pitchers: Creston Sledge, junior, Peaster; Logan Lothrop, junior, Peaster; John Bodine, senior, Millsap

Infielders: Jansen Ivie, freshman, Brock; Austin Hogan, junior, Paradise; David Buchanan, senior, Peaster; Josh Peterson, senior, Ponder; Bradley Bottoms, junior, Millsap

Outfielders: Hayden James, junior, Brock; Carson Knight, sophomore, Ponder; Chase Harris, freshman, Ponder; Dillon Burton, senior, Millsap

Catchers: Riley Low, sophomore, Ponder; Parker Grudt, sophomore, Peaster; Ryan Batholomew, freshman, Alvord

Designated hitter: Ethan Roberts, junior, Brock


Alvord: Cassidy Patterson, Mason Clower, Kyle Dunn, Cooper Hering

Boyd: Sonny McCarmack, Cody Jacobs, Colton Batterton, Brandon Hardee

Paradise: J.D. Pearson

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.




Recover password | Create an Account