Decatur’s Walker earns league MVP

By Richard Greene | Published Wednesday, March 5, 2014
Tags: ,

Share this page...

Decatur forward Philip Walker provided strong play on both ends of the court for the Eagles during the undefeated run to the District 9-3A title.

The senior averaged 11 points, 3.5 rebounds and 1.1 steals during the Eagles’ march to the Class 3A Region II quarterfinal. His efforts earned him a share of the 9-3A MVP award with Sanger senior forward Tyler Roelofs.

LEADING THE WAY – Decatur’s Philip Walker led the Eagles to a District 9-3A title this season. He was picked by the league’s coaches as the district MVP. Messenger photo by Joe Duty

Philip Walker was one of five Eagles to earn all-league honors. Two Bridgeport players received honors.

Decatur’s Drew Coffman earned Coach of the Year after guiding Eagles to a 27-6 record.

Philip’s twin brother, Paul Walker, took Offensive Player of the Year after averaging 11.5 points and 5.8 rebounds.

Gainesville’s Demetrius Franklin won Defensive Player of the Year. Joseph Clark of Sanger was the Newcomer of the Year.

Decatur seniors Austin Givens, Cain Lowe and Taylor Clayton earned first-team all-district honors. Givens led the Eagles in scoring with 13.5 points per night. He also grabbed 4.2 rebounds and handed out 3.8 assists.

Lowe averaged 10.5 points and 4.2 boards. Clayton chipped in 7.1 points and dished out a team-high 3.8 assists.

Bridgeport senior guards Derrick Stanford and Alex Samples also made the first team after guiding the Bulls to the playoffs. Stanford averaged 11.3 points, three rebounds and three assists. Samples put in 11 points, grabbed 4.2 boards and dished out two assists per game.

Decatur senior Harry Boatman and junior Holt Garner and Bridgeport seniors Dalton Hudson and Stephen Howdeshell received honorable mention.


MVP: Philip Walker, senior, Decatur; Tyler Roelofs, senior, Sanger

Offensive Player of the Year: Paul Walker, senior, Decatur

Defensive Player of the Year: Demetrius Franklin, senior, Gainesville

Newcomer of the Year: Joseph Clark, sophomore, Sanger

Coach of the Year: Drew Coffman, Decatur


Landon Bond, senior, Gainesville
Jonathan Mendez, senior, Gainesville
Tanner Thomas, senior, Sanger
Wilding Smith, junior, Sanger
Garrett McLeod, senior, Sanger
Derrick Stanford, senior, Bridgeport
Alex Samples, senior, Bridgeport
Austin Givens, senior, Decatur
Cain Lowe, senior, Decatur
Taylor Clayton, senior, Decatur
Nick Perches, sophomore, Krum
Jared Cowan, sophomore, Krum


Bridgeport: Dalton Hudson, Stephen Howdeshell

Decatur: Harry Boatman, Holt Garner

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.