Decatur defense tops Gainesville in tiebreaker

By Richard Greene | Published Saturday, February 22, 2014
Tags: ,

Share this page...

Decatur point guard Haley Dennard made the defensive play in the final seconds of the 9-3A tiebreaker game with Gainesville that helped seal the victory for the Lady Eagles as they went on to secure the league’s top playoff seed earlier this month.

It was just one of many defensive plays the senior made this season, earning her a share of the Defensive Player of the Year honors. Dennard, who also averaged 2.3 points, 3.3 rebounds and 2.9 assists, shared the honor with Gainesville’s Chandler Kemp.

Dennard was one of five Lady Eagles to earn 9-3A honors. Two Bridgeport Sissies also made the all-district team.

Billy Garner earned Coach of the Year after leading the Lady Eagles to a 25-6 record and the Class 3A Region II quarterfinal.

Decatur junior Macen Stripling was the Newcomer of the Year. The Lady Eagles’ top reserve averaged 7.8 points and 4.3 rebounds.

Gainesville’s Ariannah Kemp won the league’s MVP. Krum’s Caylee Thomas took Offensive Player of the Year. Krum’s Haley Lewis earned Sixth Player of the Year.

Three Lady Eagles made all district – seniors Murphy Graham, Katie Isham and junior Shelby Drews.

Graham, who shot 35 percent on 3-pointers, averaged 10.6 points, six rebounds and 1.7 assists. Drews led the Lady Eagles in scoring, averaging 11.6 points. She also had 5.8 rebounds, three assists and 2.1 steals per game. Isham put in 8.8 points and grabbed 3.1 rebounds per night.

Bridgeport senior Leah Guinn and junior Landry Walsh made the all-district team. Guinn averaged eight points, two steals and three assists. Walsh scored eight points, grabbed six rebounds and made one steal per game.

Decatur senior Traci Hale and junior Makayla Mayfield, and Bridgeport’s Lauren Stowers and Megan Sturdivant received honorable mention.

Decatur’s Isham, Graham, Hale, Dennard, Drews and Mayfield made the all-district academic team.

2013-14 DISTRICT 9-3A

MVP: Ariannah Kemp, senior, Gainesville

Offensive Player of the Year: Caylee Thomas, senior, Krum

Defensive Players of the Year: Haley Dennard, senior, Decatur; Chandler Kemp, sophomore, Gainesville

Newcomer of the Year: Macen Stripling, junior, Decatur

Sixth Player of the Year: Haley Lewis, sophomore, Krum

Coach of the Year: Billy Garner, Decatur


Murphy Graham, senior, Decatur; Shelby Drews, junior, Decatur; Katie Isham, senior, Decatur; Kylee Meyers, sophomore, Krum; Mackenzie Ripple, Krum; Cozy Avery, junior, Gainesville; Brittany Royal, junior, Gainesville; Jacey Beam, sophomore, Sanger; Carissa Spiker, sophomore, Gainesville; Brooke Lewis, sophomore, Sanger; Leah Guinn, senior, Bridgeport; Landrie Walsh, junior, Bridgeport


Decatur: Traci Hale, senior; Makayla Mayfield, junior

Bridgeport: Lauren Stowers, junior; Megan Sturdivant, sophomore


Decatur: Katie Isham, Murphy Graham, Traci Hale, Haley Dennard, Makayla Mayfield, Shelby Drews

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.