Woman’s Club celebrates a year of accomplishments

By Messenger Staff | Published Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Share this page...

The Decatur Woman’s Club held their final meeting of the year May 13 and celebrated an impressive list of accomplishments from 2013-14.

The club’s work projects – their own, and those where they assist other organizations – took center stage at the event, held at the Gage home. Those who chaired and volunteered were honored, and checks were presented.

Among those collecting funds were scholarship recipients, Raquel’s Wings for Life and Decatur Cares.

Five local members attended the Texas Federation of Women’s Clubs 117th Annual Spring Convention May 1-3 in Abilene. They included Lynn Long, Kay Mara, Linda Washburn, Ruby Quanz and Lisa Long Bradshaw.

The Decatur club won 31 of the 51 awards received by the Pioneer District, including 12 first-place awards and six second-place awards.

The Decatur club took home first-place plaques in:

  • Greater Federation of Women’s Clubs (GFWC) Public Issues
  • GFWC ESO Reading Program
  • GFWC Membership
  • GFWC Public Relations/Communication
  • GFWC Fundraising and Development
  • GFWC Community Service Programs
  • GFWC Public Issues – partnership
  • GFWC Signature Project – partnership with Wise Hope
  • Outstanding Americanism program

Lynn Long won first place as well, in the district chairman’s narrative division.

In addition, Annika Lindt and Carli Holloway earned first-place honors, Annika for youth short story in grades K-2, and Carli for youth poetry in grades 3-5.

Rebecca Galindo took second statewide in youth poetry for grades 6-8, while Mason Lee and Morgan Reaves earned second-place honors in youth short story, Mason for grades 6-8 and Morgan for grades 3-5.

Other second-place honors went to the club for:

  • Texas Federation of Women’s Clubs President’s Special Project – Heart Health
  • GFWC Conservation
  • GFWC Leadership.

Carol Burns was named the Woman of the Year at the May 13 meeting, and Sharon Walker took the reins from Lou Hitt as the club’s new president for the next two years.

Wings Get Boost From Fundraiser

WINGS GETS BOOST FROM FUNDRAISER – The Decatur Woman’s Club spring fundraiser, An Evening at the Opry, benefitted Raquel’s Wings For Life, an effort overseen by Decatur Municipal Airport fixed-base operator Fabio LaBrada to provide air transportation for cancer patients to get treatment. Shown presenting the check at the club’s May meeting are committee members (from left) Billie Perrin, Sue Russell, Carol Burns, Vickie Richey, Susan Anderson, LaBrada, Woman’s Club President Lou Hitt, Marguerette Roberts and Joy Roberts. Decatur Cares also got funds from the event, which was a huge success. Submitted photo

Winning Writers

WINNING WRITERS – The Decatur Woman’s Club had five winners at the Texas Federation of Women’s Clubs spring convention, held May 1-3 in Abilene. Five Decatur youths won first place in the Pioneer District writing contest and competed in state contest, where three earned first place and two earned second, sending all five to national competition this summer. Shown receiving their certificates at the local club’s meeting recently are (front, from left) Morgan Reaves, who earned second place for grades 3-5 Short Story, and Rebecca Galindo, who took second in grades 6-8 Short Story, (back, from left) Carli Holloway, winner of 3-5 Poetry Writing, and Annika Lindt, state winner of K-2 Short Story. Submitted photo

Woman of the Year

WOMAN OF THE YEAR – Carol Burns was named the Decatur Woman’s Club’s Woman of the Year at a recent meeting. Submitted photo

Scholarship Winner

SCHOLARSHIP WINNER – Decatur High School senior Mallory Miller was named winner of a $1,000 scholarship sponsored by the GFWC/Texas Decatur Woman’s Club. She plans to study dance in college. Submitted photo

New Womans Club President

NEW WOMAN’S CLUB PRESIDENT – Lou Hitt (right), outgoing president of the Decatur Woman’s Club, passes the gavel to the club’s new president, Sharon Walker, at a recent club meeting. Other new officers were installed May 13 and include president-elect Sherry Henderson, first vice president Marguerette Roberts, second vice president Carol Burns, recording secretary Julie Pierce, corresponding secretary Dana McCarroll, treasurer Tracy Lamar, federation counselor Kay Mara, chaplain Barbara Hooks and parliamentarian Lou Hitt. Submitted photo

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.