EDC board to name officers

By Messenger Staff | Published Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Tags: ,

Share this page...

The board of directors of the Decatur Economic Development Corp. (EDC) will reorganize and honor an outgoing director at its Thursday morning meeting.

Currently the board consists of President Andrew Sandford, Vice President Jay Davidson, secretary-treasurer Martin Woodruff, Jason Wren and Roy Eaton. Davidson, Woodruff and Wren are members of the Decatur City Council. Eaton, a longtime member of the board, is stepping down and will be honored with a plaque for his service.

The board is expected to reappoint officers, but the city council will have to name a new director to take Eaton’s spot.

The board will get a financial report from City Manager Brett Shannon, and discuss providing additional grant funds for an air wall project at the Decatur Civic Center.

EDC Executive Director Mary Poch will report on the upcoming Business Appreciation Dinner, which is slated for 6:30 p.m. Monday, May 19, at the Civic Center. Hope Andrade, former Texas Secretary of State who now serves as the commissioner representing employers on the Texas Workforce Commission, will be the featured speaker.

Poch will also update directors on EDC proposals, the strategic plan effort that is underway, and the EDC’s business expansion and retention program.

A public forum and closed session are also on the agenda. The meeting starts at 9 a.m. at the EDC office, 106 S. Trinity St. in the Decatur Visitors Center.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.