Decatur FFA collects awards at state convention

By Messenger Staff | Published Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Tags: ,

Share this page...

Several Decatur High School students attended the 86th annual Texas FFA State Convention July 14-17 in Fort Worth. FFA members attending included Kelsey Blase, Seth Byers, Michaela Cross, Carter Hackanson, Michael Hicks, Cody Holloway, Trenton Lane, Lyndi Luttrull, Alex Samano, Katarina Scoma, Chance Walther and Ramey Walther.

Successful Program

SUCCESSFUL PROGRAM – Decatur FFA members brought home numerous awards from the 86th annual Texas FFA State Convention July 14-17 in Fort Worth. Submitted photo

The chapter received numerous awards recognizing the entire group as well as several individual members. The Decatur FFA chapter received the prestigious Golden Horizons award, which is only bestowed upon the top 10 percent of FFA chapters in Texas.

Since the completion of the convention, all award applications and records were sent to National FFA for consideration. Decatur FFA received the National Chapter Rating, 3 Stars, which is the highest rating a chapter can receive on the national level. These awards recognized the chapter for their activities and efforts in student development, chapter development and community development.

Cayla Cotten, Michaela Cross, Shelby Drews, Ty Green, Katherine Rowden and Chance Walther received their Lone Star FFA Degree. The Lone Star FFA degree is the highest degree bestowed by the Texas FFA.

The Lone Star FFA Degree recognizes FFA members who have received their Chapter degree, been active FFA members for at least two years, completed at least four semesters of agricultural science at or above the ninth grade level, maintained a supervised agricultural experience program, demonstrated their leadership skills and showed a commitment to FFA through involvement at the chapter level and above.

Decatur FFA member, Paris Walther, won the Agriculture Communications Proficiency Award. The Proficiency Awards program encourages members to set personal goals and learn practical skills. The program provides recognition to FFA members for exceptional accomplishments and excellence in their Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) program.

Chance Walther received the Washington D.C. Leadership Conference Scholarship. Walther was presented with a full scholarship that allowed him to attend the Washington D.C. Leadership conference as a delegate representing Texas.

Lyndi Luttrull placed 7th in the Texas FFA Prepared Public Speaking Contest. To qualify for the state competition, Luttrull advanced through one of the 57 district competitions in the state and one of the 10 area competitions.

Shelby Chandler, Paris Walther, Brittney Hubbard, Hannah Hubbard and Summer Miller were named candidates for the American FFA Degree and will be awarded these degrees at the 87th annual National FFA Convention in Louisville, Ky. The American FFA Degree is the highest degree awarded by the National FFA Organization. It is the top degree in a four-tier program that recognizes individual achievement in instructional programs, supervised experience and leadership development.

Jim Allsup, Decatur High School agriculture science teacher, received his 25-year tenure award at the Vocational Agricultural Science Teachers Professional Development Conference. Tenure awards are a benefit of the VATAT and are given in five-year increments to agriculture science teachers and associate members of the association who have dedicated themselves to teaching and supporting agricultural science.

After wrapping up a successful 2013-2014 school year, the Decatur FFA program is looking ahead and planning for an even better year in 2014-2015.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.