Local 4-Hers recognized at banquet

By Chrissy Karrer | Published Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Share this page...

Wise County 4-H families gathered Aug. 11 to recognize the accomplishments of the youth in the 4-H program. It was an excellent evening with catering provided by Wise County Electric Co-op and speaker Currey Cook, former Georgia 4-H state officer, sharing the message that through dedication, hard work and the support of adults, 4-H members can achieve anything they put their minds to.

The banquet’s theme was “All Around 4-H,” and table decorations, featuring various 4-H projects, were designed by 4-H members. At the beginning of the night, 4-H leaders and volunteers were recognized for their years of dedication and service to the 4-H program.

The Greenwood Extension Education Club was named the “Friend of 4-H” for 2013-2014, and we greatly appreciate all they do to help support our 4-H youth with scholarships and donations throughout the year.

The Leader of the Year was Kelly Martin. She serves as club manager for Chico 4-H and offers support to the dairy goat program in Wise County.

The Club of the Year was Slidell/Greenwood 4-H. Their hard work and commitment to improving their community has not gone unrecognized.

The Farm Bureau Leadership award was presented to Olivia Bettesworth of Paradise 4-H by Wise County Farm Bureau Board President Herb Williams. Texas Farm Bureau recognizes youth each year who exemplify leadership and knowledge in agriculture.

William H. Danforth believed that each person had special gifts. He regularly threw out the challenge, “Be your own self and at your very best all the time.” The Danforth “I Dare You” award winners were Caitlin Pruett of Slidell/Greenwood 4-H and Lyndi Luttrull of Decatur 4-H.

The Bronze Star award goes to the top two junior 4-H members, ages 8 to 10, who complete a recordbook and interview. Though relatively new to the 4-H program, these 4-H members have learned a lot about their projects and are becoming involved in their communities. This year’s winners are Clayton Myers of Alvord 4-H and Easton Vanover of Slidell/Greenwood 4-H.

The Silver Star award goes to the top two intermediate 4-H members, ages 11 to 13, that complete a recordbook and interview. These 4-H members are starting to find their niche in 4-H and are not only shining in the livestock arena, but also in the public speaking project as well. This year’s winners are Clint Demmitt of Chico 4-H and Cassady Craddock of Bridgeport 4-H.

The Gold Star award is the highest recognition for a 4-H member. It is awarded to senior 4-H members who go above and beyond in their clubs and community and continuously strive to “Make the best better.” This year’s Gold Star recipients were Logan Moore of Boyd 4-H and Morgan Barnes of Slidell/Greenwood 4-H.

I personally would like to thank everyone came out to recognize the youth, volunteers and leaders in 4-H. Without them the Wise County 4-H program would not be possible.

Chrissy Karrer is a Wise County Extension agent.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.