Lady Eagles reclaim district

By Clay Corbett | Published Saturday, October 26, 2013
Tags: ,

Share this page...

After losing the district crown to Sanger last year, the No. 3 Decatur Lady Eagles made sure to leave no doubt this season.

GOLDEN FINISH – Decatur’s Jessica Kyle pulled away for the individual title Thursday at Joe Wheeler Park. Messenger photo by Joe Duty

Decatur claimed five of the top 10 places to cruise to the District 9-3A championship Thursday at Joe Wheeler Park in Decatur.

The Lady Eagles secured first place with 22 team points. Sanger was second with 38 and Bridgeport took fifth with 116.

“The girls ran well and real businesslike,” Decatur coach David Park said. “They didn’t lose their heads early like sometimes happens at district. They didn’t go out too fast and knew where they needed to be.”

Jessica Kyle led the way for the Lady Eagles, taking the top overall spot in a time of 12:03.

“All the hard work has finally paid off,” Kyle said. “Going into it I didn’t think I would be No. 1 because we have strong competition with Sanger, and my teammates are strong too.”

Kyle and Haley Dennard claimed the top two places as they caught and passed Sanger’s Ashley Martinez, who finished third with a time of 12:18.

Dennard clocked a 12:13.

“We knew their [Sanger] strategy was to get ahead,” Dennard said. “We knew to let them go in the beginning and just run our race. We all packed and stayed together as a team.”

Nicole Neighbors took the fifth spot in a time of 12:28, while Paola Palomo was right behind in sixth with a time of 12:35.

Morgan Haney was the fifth Decatur runner to cross the finish line, taking eighth with a time of 12:37.

“Every day we start I’m not sure who’s going to win for us,” Park said. “It could be Nicole or Jessica and it was almost Haley today.

“Morgan Haney ran a great five card for us. Anytime you put seven girls in the 12’s you’ve got a good chance.”

Georgina Palomo finished 13th in 12:49 and Nancy Torres ran 14th in 12:58.

Diana Garcia led the way for Bridgeport in 18th position with a time of 13:25. Lacey Erwin secured 19th in 13:27 and Elizabeth Wiedmann picked up 24th in 13:59.

Naomi Baca placed 26th with a time of 14:01. Jordyn Armstrong was the fifth Sissie to cross the line in 29th with a time of 14:31.

McKenna Myers clocked a 14:36 for 30th and Felicia Coleman took 32nd in 14:43.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.