Decatur pair land on all-state golf team

By Clay Corbett | Published Saturday, June 15, 2013
Tags: ,

Share this page...

Decatur’s Drew Jones and Dylan Rottner both garnered all-state honors when the 2012-2013 UIL All-State Class 3A Boys Golf Team was announced this week.

Nice Finish

NICE FINISH – Decatur freshman Drew Jones earned second-team all-state honors this week. Messenger photo by Joe Duty

Jones, a freshman, landed on the second-team while Rottner, a senior, earned honorable mention for the second consecutive year.

Jones is coming off a ninth-place finish at the state tournament. Decatur placed fifth overall.

He helped lead the Eagles to a second-place finish at regionals after taking home the individual district championship a week earlier by 13 strokes.

Rottner finished third at district, helping the Eagles claim a district title. He finished 22nd at the state tournament in May.

All State

ALL-STATE – Dylan Rottner picked up all-state honorable mention for the second consecutive year. Messenger photo by Joe Duty

Rottner, who just graduated from DHS, recently signed to play golf at Texas Wesleyan University in Fort Worth.

Jones verbally committed to the University of Texas earlier this year.

The all-state teams are determined by rankings based on score sheets submitted by high school coaches for the 2012-2013 season.

First Team: Collin Thompson, Longview Spring Hill; G.K. Morrison, Andrews; James Sandoval, Pleasanton; Josh Baltzell, Andrews; Marcus Bennett, Madisonville; Tanner Napier, Paris; Taylor Grant, Abilene Wylie; Tyler Bryan, Big Spring; Wade Davis, Carthage; William Wilder, Henderson.

Second Team: Drew Jones, Decatur; Blake Lyle, Argyle; Chance Craig, Llano; Cole Grona, Fredericksburg; Dylan Coffer, Borger; Hunter Montgomery, Andrews; Lance Roden, Argyle; Omar Ramirez, Fort Stockton; Sam Rogers, Fredericksburg; Tanner Montgomery, Andrews.

Honorable Mention: Dylan Rottner, Decatur; Carson Scitern, Caldwell; Casey Fowler, Andrews; Clayton Meyers; Llano; Erik Walinder; Andrews; Hagen Wood, Longview Spring Hill; Hunter Thompson, Argyle; Jack Graham, Argyle; Ryan Pollard, Big Spring; Zane Stafford, Levelland.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.