Indicted trustee resigns

By Erika Pedroza | Published Saturday, June 1, 2013

Share this page...

Northwest ISD officials Tuesday accepted the resignation of Kerry Jones from the school board.

The district had been notified of Jones’ intentions earlier in the day. Jones, a counselor in the Grapevine-Colleyville ISD, has been on administrative leave since August. He was indicted March 28 on four counts of improper relationship between an educator and a student.

NISD officials have not yet determined what they will do to fill out the remaining year on his term.


After swearing in recently elected Dr. Anne Davis-Simpson to place 3 and Judy Copp to place 4 a second term, the board did some rearranging including:

  • retaining Mel Fuller as president and naming Josh Wright vice president and Devonna Holland secretary;
  • designating Fuller and Holland as the official signatories of the district and Wright an alternate;
  • naming Copp its representative to the Texas Association of School Boards delegate assembly and Wright her alternate;
  • naming Mark Schluter the voting representative for the City of Fort Worth Tax Increment Reinvestment Board and Communities in Schools;
  • designating Fuller the voting representative for the North Texas Council of Governments general assembly; and
  • named Holland the voting representative for the NISD Education Foundation.

For the most part, the board maintained its meeting schedule of the second and fourth Mondays of the month with a few exceptions. In the upcoming school year, the board meets at 7 p.m. the following days:

  • Aug. 12 and 26
  • Sept. 9 and 23
  • Oct. 14 and 28
  • Nov. 11 (one meeting due to Thanksgiving holiday)
  • Dec. 16 (third Monday, one meeting due to winter break)
  • Jan. 13 and 30 (the latter a Thursday due to a conference)
  • Feb. 10 and 24
  • March 17 (third Monday, one meeting due to spring break)
  • April 14 and 28
  • May 12 and 27 (the latter a Tuesday due to Memorial Day)
  • June 9 and 24 (the latter a Tuesday due to conference)


The board also:

  • named Cynthia Webber, current assistant principal at Northwest ISD’s Byron Nelson High School, principal of Haslet Elementary School. Ringnolda Jofe Tremain principal of O.A. Peterson Elementary School; and former communications and multimedia specialist Emily Conklin the director of communications.
  • discussed selecting Unum as the district’s long-term disability provider after the current provider, Hartford, proposed increases to the monthly employee premium. Unum offers comparable benefits with a premium decrease on most levels of coverage.
  • heard reports on the long-range technology plan, staff survey results and April financials and investments.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.