Davis named ‘Firefighter of the Year’

By Messenger Staff | Published Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Share this page...

Ryan Davis was named Decatur’s “Firefighter of the Year” Saturday at the annual honors banquet for the Decatur Fire Department, held at the Decatur Civic Center.

The award was presented by Fire Chief Mike Richardson and Deputy Chief Deroy Bennett.

Earlier in the evening, Davis was honored with a community service award for volunteering 1,492 hours at the department in the past year. Other community service award winners were Dusty Baker, 1,332 hours; Lt. Rick King, 1,259 hours and Eric Pedroza, 1,082 hours.

Keller Fire Chief David Jones was keynote speaker for the event and emphasized the importance of customer service in the fire department. Both he and Richardson said good customer service is the key to the success of the fire service.

Kyle Stephens, a Decatur firefighter for more than 25 years, was promoted to administrative captain and received an outstanding customer service award. Stephens, a former Wise County Commissioner, is a past president of the State Firemens and Fire Marshal’s Association.

Other awards presented included: Rookie of the Year, Jason Daniel; Fire Officer of the Year, Chris Caster and the “Mr. Crash” traveling trophy to Lt. Rick King.

Firefighters from Bridgeport and Jacksboro provided coverage for the city during the banquet.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.