Council tables school resource officer plan

By Bob Buckel | Published Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Share this page...

With the wind swirling, hail and tornadoes threatening and the biggest item on the agenda tabled, the Decatur City Council’s Monday meeting was a quick one.

The council had planned to consider a memorandum of understanding with Decatur Independent School District to set up a School Resource Officer program. Under terms outlined in the council’s packet, the city would provide trained, licensed, uniformed police officers to serve in the schools and be reimbursed by the school district for their pay and benefits.

But the school board tabled the matter last Thursday – after the city council agenda had already been put together – so City Manager Brett Shannon recommended the council table it as well.

“The school board tabled it on Thursday night, to give Mr. Micinski [deputy superintendent/finance] one last look at the budget numbers,” Shannon said. “I would recommend we table this until the school district takes their action.”

With that done, the council’s tasks were disposed of quickly so members and city employees could get home and out of the storm’s way.

The council:

  • canvassed the results of the May 11 election and swore in three re-elected members: Susan Cocanougher in Place 2, Jason Wren in Place 4 and Randy Bowker in Place 6. Cocanougher and Wren were unopposed, and Bowker defeated challenger Peter Rivera by a 163-42 margin;
  • reorganized the council by appointing Wren as mayor pro-tem, Jay Davidson as deputy mayor pro-tem, Dana Clinesmith as the city’s representative to the North Central Texas Council of Governments and filling an empty slot by naming Mayor Martin Woodruff as the city’s airport liaison;
  • approved on second reading an ordinance amending several city fees for inspections plan review, code enforcement, household hazardous waste disposal, water tap regulators and planning and zoning applications and permits;
  • heard a report from Director of Public Works Earl Smith on the city’s Sanitary Sewer Overflow Initiative, as required under a five-year agreement with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency;
  • reappointed Cynthia DesRoches, Cynthia Weaver, Billy Wiley and Ann Williams to the Cemetery Board with terms to expire May 31, 2015;
  • reappointed Gene Blagg as president, Wayne Stone as vice president and Joyce Horton as secretary on the Cemetery Board, effective until May 31, 2014;
  • heard reports in the pre-council workshop on the airport and finance departments, the Civic Center, the Main Street Program, the library and the police department.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.