Several on all-district team after historic season

By Clay Corbett | Published Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Share this page...

The Northwest Texans made school history this year with their football program, and earlier this week they were represented well for their accomplishments on the District 4-5A All-District team.

After leading his team to their first eight-win season as a Class 5A program, a second-place finish in District 4-5A and to the bi-district round of the state playoffs, Northwest senior quarterback Draze Lawliss was named the District 4-5A Offensive MVP.

OFFENSIVE MVP – Northwest quarterback Draze Lawliss was named District 4-5A Offensive MVP after leading the Texans to the postseason. Messenger photo by Joe Duty

Lawliss finished the season with 1,478 passing yards and 13 touchdowns. He also rushed for 570 yards and two touchdowns.

Wide receiver Dylan Stubbe landed on the first team after completing the season with 35 catches for 476 yards and three touchdowns.

Joining Stubbe on the first-team offense were tackle Travis Stubblefield and kicker Cayden Ihrig.

Stubblefield was a three-year starter and a three-time all-district selection. Ihrig connected on all his extra-point attempts, going 38 for 38. He also made seven field goals.

Carter James picked up first-team defensive honors after recording 71 tackles along with five sacks.

Colton McDonald was chosen as a first-team safety with 73 tackles and three sacks. He also had two fumble recoveries and an interception.

With 39 tackles, four sacks and two fumble recoveries, Joe Gonzales earned first-team defensive tackle honors.

Joining Gonzales on the first-team defense was Duke Kicinski. The junior recorded 37 tackles with three sacks and two fumble recoveries.

Derrick Benson rounded out the first-team honors for Northwest. Benson had 27 tackles and five interceptions.

Three Texans landed on the all-district second-team offense, including Dakota Chavis who had 996 yards rushing and 13 touchdowns, Emmanuel Moore and James Gregory.

Sam Jennings was the lone representative on the second-team defense for Northwest. He led the district in interceptions with seven.

Houston Patterson, Jacob Jennings, Jacob Parker, Cody Duffey and Reggie McDaniel all were named to the all-district honorable mention list.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.