Moss earns 9-A MVP

By Richard Greene | Published Wednesday, May 30, 2012
Tags: ,

Share this page...

THROWING WAY TO TOP - Chico's Malori Moss led the Lady Dragons to the second round of the playoffs and earned the District 9-A MVP award. Messenger photo by Joe Duty

Malori Moss pitched and hit the Chico Lady Dragons to a share of the District 9-A title and the area round of the playoffs.

For her efforts, Moss earned the 9-A MVP award.

The senior led the Lady Dragons with a .567 average, five home runs and 37 RBIs. She went 14-10 with 108 strikeouts in the pitcher’s circle.

Moss was one of six Lady Dragons to receive all-district honors.

Chico senior catcher Hannah Avants earned Defensive Player of the Year. She posted an .857 fielding percentage and threw out four runners on the basepaths. Avants hit .536 with 13 RBIs and scored 38 runs.

Lindsay pitcher Taylor Atkins took Offensive Player of the Year. Lindsay freshman Tara Atkins was the Newcomer of the Year. Pitcher of the Year went to Collinsville’s Cally Johnson. Collinsville’s Morgan Irelan received Utility Player of the Year.

Chico second baseman Charlye Biggerstaff, shortstop Molli Umphress and left fielder Ann Turlington made the first team.

Biggerstaff hit .380 with 11 RBIs. Umphress batted .362 with 13 RBIs and 26 runs. She posted an .818 fielding percentage at shortstop. Turlington finished with a .306 average with nine RBIs, 12 runs and seven doubles.

Chico center fielder Jorden Vidal earned a second-team selection. She hit .211 and knocked in 15 runs with two home runs.

Chico’s Cameron Bowyer, Araliza Galindo and Martina Cantu received honorable mention.


  • MVP: Malori Moss, senior, Chico
  • Offensive Player of the Year: Taylor Atkins, senior, Lindsay
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Hannah Avants, senior, Chico
  • Newcomer of the Year: Tara Atkins, freshman, Lindsay
  • Pitcher of the Year: Cally Johnson, freshman, Collinsville
  • Utility Player of the Year: Morgan Irelan, sophomore, Collinsville
  • Coach of the Year: Robin Hess, Lindsay


Charlye Biggerstaff, Chico; Molli Umphress, Chico; Ann Turlington, Chico; Sabrina Attaway, Collinsville; Aspen Sowder, Collinsville; Lucinda Krahl, Lindsay; Megan Caillier, Lindsay; Erin Copeland, Lindsay; Kassie Dangelmayr, Muenster; Whitney Yosten, Valley View


Jorden Vidal, Chico; Sheridan Shewbirt, Collinsville; Holly Theall, Collinsville; Liz Wallace, Lindsay; Haley Skinner, Lindsay; Sydney Huchton, Muenster; Kendi Bayer, Muenster; Brittany Pagel, Muenster


Chico: Cameron Bowyer, Araliza Galindo, Martina Cantu


Chico: Hannah Avants, Malori Moss, Cameron Bowyer, Molli Umphress, Ann Turlington, Araliza Galindo, Martina Cantu, Charlye Biggerstaff, Maddy Smith, Brianna Martin, Cyndee Hornsby, Heidi Spann

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.




Recover password | Create an Account