Lady Eagles, Eagles aim for title

By Clay Corbett | Published Saturday, October 20, 2012
Tags: ,

Share this page...

After another victory No. 3 Lady Eagles look ready to hit the course at Joe Wheeler Park in Decatur for the District 7-3A cross country championships Wednesday.

The Lady Eagles are coming off a win at the Birdville Invitational and look to defend their district title next week.

“We had a spirited workout,” Decatur coach David Park said about the final meet before district. “We have the longest pre-season and shortest season of any sport. The kids are ready. They know the storm is coming.”

Sanger comes into the district meet as the No. 1 ranked team.

“They have a quality program,” Park said about Sanger. “Their boys were second at the state meet last year, and their girls were there, too. Everybody takes it to a different level at district.”

The top seven finishers for Decatur at the Birdville Invitational will be the seven representatives at the district meet.

First-place finisher Nicole Neighbors will be joined by Jessica Kyle, Nancy Torres, Georgina Palomo, Paola Palomo, Morgan Haney and Hope Fuller.

Neighbors finished with a time of 12:06 at Birdville. After Neighboars, the Lady Eagles swept the fifth through 11th positions.

Kyle was fifth with a time of 12:26. Nancy Torres took sixth in 12:35. Georgina Palomo was seventh in 12:44, and Palo Palomo was right behind in eighth in 12:45.

Haney ran 12:46 for ninth, and Fuller was tenth in 13:01. Lluvia Ramos captured 11th in 13:07.

The Eagles placed seventh in the 4A-5A division at the Birdville Invitational.

Taylor Clayton led the way in 18th with a time of 15:58. Michael Smyers placed 27th in 16:18. Daniel Smyers ran 16:28 for 42nd. Travis Kyle took 50th in 16:41.

Austin Poole was Decatur’s fifth runner, in 53rd with a time of 16:43.

Brandon Rivera captured 93rd in 17:23. Joaquin Aldape placed 116th in 17:50, and Tyler Wilson was 135th in 18:21.

Clayton will join Michael and Daniel Smyers, Travis Kyle, Austin Poole, Brandon Rivera and Joaquin Aldape as the seven district runners.

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.