Cate earns 10-2A’s top offensive honor; Seven Panthers earn honors

By Richard Greene | Published Saturday, June 9, 2012

Share this page...

Jared Cate tore up pitching throughout the 2012 season. The Boyd senior shortstop hit .556 with 27 RBIs and a home run.

For his efforts, he earned the District 10-2A Offensive Player of the Year award.

Cate was one of five Boyd players to earn all-district honors. Seven Paradise players received honors.

District champion and state semifinalist Brock cleaned up with the superlative awards. Shay Phillips took MVP. Brock hurler Ben Dickman shared Pitcher of the Year with Maverick Macy of Godley. The Eagles’ Garrett Busby was the Defensive Player of the Year. Walker Daily grabbed Utility Player of the Year.

The Brock coaches were the top staff in the league.

Paradise freshman Dillon Meadows earned Newcomer of the Year. Meadows compiled a 7-4 record with a 2.36 ERA in 59 innings and hit .439 with 32 RBIs.

Tolar’s Dusty Kimmell was the Freshman of the Year.

Paradise put three players on the first team – pitcher Connor Berry, third baseman Logan Bailey and catcher Skylar Black. Berry went 7-2 with a 1.41 ERA and nine saves. Bailey hit .329 with 27 RBIs. Black batted .377 with 17 RBIs.

Boyd outfielder Audie Greenwood, third baseman Chasen Starnes and designated hitter Bo Montgomery joined the first team. Greenwood hit .371 with 13 RBIs. Starnes batted .315 driving in 14 runs. Montgomery finished with a .300 average and 14 RBIs.

Paradise pitcher Kale Johnson, center fielder Andrew Sims and shortstop Jarret Holt made the second team. Johnson went 5-2 with a 3.60 ERA. Sims hit .367 with 18 RBIs and scored 37 runs. Holt batted .262 and had a .462 on-base percentage as a leadoff hitter.

Boyd outfielder Michael Partin and infielder Dylan Pickett were second-team selections. Partin hit .396 with 14 RBIs. Pickett batted .319.

2012 DISTRICT 10-2A

  • MVP: Shay Phillips, junior, Brock
  • Co-Pitcher of the Year: Maverick Macy, junior, Godley; Ben Dickman, senior, Brock
  • Offensive Player of the Year: Jared Cate, senior, Boyd
  • Newcomer of the Year: Dillon Meadows, freshman, Paradise
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Garrett Busby, senior, Brock
  • Freshman of the Year: Dusty Kimmell, freshman, Tolar
  • Utility Player of the year: Walker Daily, senior, Brock
  • Coaching Staff of the Year: Brock


Pitcher: Jerry Taft, sophomore, Godley; Connor Berry, senior, Paradise

Outfielder: Keith Steel, senior, Brock; Rhett Bronner, senior, Godley; Asa Menchaca, freshman, Peaster; Audie Greenwood, senior, Boyd

Infielder: J.D. Stinnett, senior, Brock; Riley Davis, senior, Godley; Logan Bailey, senior, Paradise; Grant McCullough, senior, Peaster; Chasen Starnes, senior, Boyd; Dakota Insley, freshman, Tolar

Catcher: Skylar Black, freshman, Paradise; Tate Erwin, senior, Peaster

Designated Hitter: Rhett Roden, senior, Godley; Bo Montgomery, senior, Boyd


Pitcher: Jordan Wooten, senior, Peaster; Blake Aldridge, senior, Brock; Kale Johnson, senior, Paradise

Outfielder: Riley Davis, senior, Godley; Kolbin Brown, senior, Godley; Andrew Sims, senior, Paradise; Michael Partin, junior, Boyd; Cole Cain, senior, Tolar

Infielder: Gage Haley, sophomore, Godley; Jarret Holt, sophomore, Paradise; James Hensley, junior, Peaster; Dylan Pickett, senior, Boyd; Logan Dixon, junior, Jacksboro; John Bodine, sophomore, Millsap

Catcher: Chase Thompson, freshman, Jacksboro; Austin Ashlock, senior, Tolar

Designated Hitter: Sam Cummins, senior, Godley


Pitcher: Cody Jacobs, Boyd; Kirby Yale, Boyd; Oompa Glavin, Tolar

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.