Baker earns 9-2A spot; Six Bulldogs receive all-district honors

By Richard Greene | Published Saturday, May 26, 2012

Share this page...

Alvord third baseman Casen Baker crushed the baseball all season for the Bulldogs.

The junior batted .449 with four home runs, 26 RBIs and 11 doubles. He posted an .812 slugging percentage in Alvord’s 21 games.

For his efforts, Baker earned a first-team District 9-2A selection.

He was one of six Bulldogs to receive all-district honors.

Ponder’s Dalton Brown earned the MVP award. Holliday’s Ryan Todd took Offensive Player of the Year. The Defensive Player of the Year was shared by Henrietta’s Joe Dell Williams and Krum’s Josh Reeves. Nocona freshman Jaxon Phipps received Newcomer of the Year.

Mark Low of Ponder took Coach of the Year.

Alvord senior pitcher Trevor Hardee, sophomore second baseman Lane Peace and senior outfielder Matt Dunn made the first team.

Hardee went 3-3 with a 4.64 ERA, striking out 56 and walking 27. Peace hit .383 with 12 RBIs. Dunn batted .265 with 10 RBIs.

Alvord junior catcher Jordan Locklear and senior utility infielder Ty McDaniel earned second-team selections. Locklear hit .439 with 20 RBIs, a home run and 11 doubles. McDaniel batted .394 with 10 RBIs.


  • MVP: Dalton Brown, senior, Ponder
  • Offensive Player of the Year: Ryan Todd, senior, Holliday
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Joe Dell Williams, junior, Henrietta; Josh Reeves, junior, Krum
  • Newcomer of the Year: Jaxon Phipps, freshman, Nocona
  • Coach of the Year: Mark Low, Ponder


Pitchers: Ty Damron, junior, Krum; Korben Allen, senior, Henrietta; Trevor Hardee, senior, Alvord

Catchers: Ethan Easterling, junior, Ponder; Brennan Whitaker, sophomore, Holliday

First base: Dylan Nichelson, junior, Ponder; Ben Fletcher, junior, Henrietta

Second base: Lane Peace, sophomore, Alvord; Kelby Carver, senior, Holliday

Shortstop: Keaton Malcolm, sophomore, Ponder

Third base: Zach Hughes, junior, Krum; Casen Baker, junior, Alvord

Utility: Justin Graham, junior, Krum

Designated hitter: Conner Fletcher, sophomore, Henrietta

Oufield: Jeff McInnish, senior, Nocona; Austin Leveridge, junior, Ponder; Matt Dunn, senior, Alvord; Zach Byers, senior, Henrietta; Sam Shirley, junior, Holliday; Caz Wojciak, sophomore, Krum


Pitchers: Austin Hayden, junior, Ponder; Jarett Rangel, senior, City View; Tyler Munden, freshman, Holliday

Catcher: Jordan Locklear, junior, Alvord

First base: Taylor Hill, senior, Holliday; Joseph Storey, senior, Nocona

Second base: Nick Powell, junior, Henrietta; Zane Eperjesi, senior, Ponder

Shortstop: Brendan Styles, junior, Krum

Third base: Logan Allen, sophomore, Holliday

Utility: Ty McDaniel, senior, Alvord

Designated hitter: Philip Davis, junior, Henrietta; Brandon Wright, sophomore, Holliday

Outfield: DJ Brown, senior, City View; Coty McKelvey, senior, Henrietta; Brennan Ellis, sophomore, Krum; Micah Broadstreet, junior, Ponder

Leave a Reply. Note: As of March 24, 2011, all posted comments will include the users full name. News and Blog Comment Guidelines

You must be logged in to post a comment.